Our mission is to determine accurate values of all property (residential, commercial, motor vehicle and tangible) in accordance with local and state laws in order to ensure that the distribution of the tax burden is fair and equitable.
Our objectives are to:
- accurately and properly maintain and update this property information
- review and administer exemptions as allowed under Rhode Island law and City ordinances
- review, oversee and administer the triennial Revaluation process
- perform these duties in adherence with the IAAO Code of Ethics, which includes:
- accountability to the public good
- a commitment to excellence in assessment administration
- respect for the worth and dignity of all individuals
- the promotion of fairness
- an obligation to organizational transparency, integrity and honesty
- maintaining the public trust
2013 Tax Rates (for taxes assessed as of 12/31/12):
$37.06 per thousand for Commercial Property
$48.65 per thousand for Motor Vehicles
$73.11 per thousand for Tangible Personal Property
Frequently Asked Questions
When will I receive my tax bill and when is it due?
Tax bills are generally mailed in June and have a July 1st due date. However, this year (2013 Bill) the tax bills will be mailed in mid-July and the first quarter will not be due until August 1, 2013. If your bill is more than $100.00, you have the option of paying in quarterly installments due this year on August 1, October 1, January 1 and April 1. There is a six (6) business day grace period. However, RIGL §44-5-8 is very clear that if any installment is late, then the whole tax (or remaining unpaid balance) becomes due and payable (including interest and penalties). It should also be noted that RIGL §44-7-7 states that failure by the taxpayer to receive a bill shall not excuse the nonpayment of the tax.
What time period does the tax bill cover?
Real estate tax bills cover the current calendar year, assessed the prior December 31st. For example, Tangible personal property and motor vehicle tax bills cover the prior calendar year. For example, the 2013 motor vehicle and tangible property tax bills cover from January 1, 2012 to December 31, 2012
What if my motor vehicle’s assessed value is more than I could sell it for?
The value for excise tax purposes is mandated by law to be the average retail value as determined by the Rhode Island Vehicle Value Commission (see RIGL 44-34-9 and RIGL 44-34-11). This determination is made by using the National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA) Used Car Guide and other recognized pricing guides. Condition, mileage or so-called market value of individual cars is NOT a consideration in determining value for excise tax purposes.
How are my taxes determined?
The amound of taxes that you pay is determined by the budget and the levy. The proposed budget and tax rates are forwarded to the State of Rhode Island for their review and approval. The City, after public hearings, then adopts a budget that reflects what services will be provided and the cost to provide those services. The amount of revenue generated by property taxes is the levy. Property taxes are ad valorem, which means that they are based on value. Your share of the tax burden is based on the value of your property – the more that your property is worth, relative to other property in the city, the higher your share of the tax burden.
What if I disagree with the assessed value of my property?
If you believe that your property is over-assessed, not assessed fairly in comparison to other properties, or that it is not classified correctly, you have the right to file an appeal with the Assessor’s Office. The deadline for an appeal on a motor vehicle is within thirty (30) days of notice of valuation (RIGL §44-34-8). The deadline to file an appeal on real estate or tangle personal propertyassessment is within ninety (90) days from the date that the 1st quarterly payment is due (August 1). RIGL §44-5-26 states: “THESE DEADLINES CANNOT BE EXTENDED OR WAIVED BY THE ASSESSOR FOR ANY REASON.” IF YOUR APPLICATION IS NOT FILED ON TIME, YOU LOSE ALL RIGHTS TO AN ABATEMENT AND THE ASSESSOR CANNOT, BY LAW, GRANT YOU ONE. AN APPEAL APPLICATION IS FILED WHEN RECEIVED BY THE ASSESSOR’S OFFICE.